The Game of Mercy

As a kid, I remember playing on the playground with all of my friends. There was one game in particular that I remember. We called it the game of mercy. A friend and I would lock hands, count to 3, and then try to snap the other person’s fingers off. You hold on as long as you can, hopefully longer than the other guy. The game is over when one of the two screams ‘stop’ or cries mercy. Needless to say, this game was one of my least favorite.

But, the game stops when one cries out and the other one listens. I wish life was that easy now. But life isn’t a game, and I’m not a child anymore. I can cry mercy in this life all I want, but is anyone listening? Or am I just screaming into a void of air?

I like to think someone is listening. In fact, I know someone is listening. My God is listening. People say time and time again, “God gives His biggest wars to His strongest soldiers.” Now, I think about this statement all the time. Why would God give the biggest war to the strongest soldiers? Look at the story of David and Goliath. If this statement was true, how did David win this fight between Goliath? David turned to God for help. This is how David won the fight.

Maybe God gives us more than we can handle sometimes so we will turn to Him for help. Maybe life is complicated and hard so we turn to God for guidance and direction.

So, when I cry out mercy, it definitely is not being heard. God hears me, and I can scream all day long, but it doesn’t mean a thing if I don’t ask God for help.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, God may gives some of His biggest battles to the weakest soldier so you go to Him, you lean on Him, you trust in Him, and He can and WILL show you His mercy, love, and grace.

Leave a Reply

