Coming from a Broken Home

I was told when I was younger I came from a broken home. That what they used to call it when you had divorced parents, even though their divorce was the least broken thing they ever did for themselves and for their children. When I heard this as a seven-year-old, I wondered if a broken home was where broken people lived. I know it was a silly thought, after all, I was seven. But as I’ve grown, I can’t help but wonder.

What constitutes a home? I grew up with the misconception that a home and a house were the exact same thing, and by all definition, they both represent where a person lives. But a house, well that can be made out of anything. You can make it out of brick, logs, even mud if you want. You can make it as strong or weak as you want. Now a home, a home is much more fragile. A home is not some structure that keeps you safe at night. It’s so much bigger than that. A home is made by the people you feel it with. Of course, people can be broken, but any college student knows that what’s broken can be mended, I mean just look at my GPA. What’s hurt can be healed. It is not impossible, it just takes time.

Time…there’s that word again. I hear this word over and over, that my time to meet my soulmate is coming, that God’s timing is much better than my own, and I won’t deny that. I can’t deny that. I’ve seen God’s timing work wonders. I believe my mother knows exactly what I’m talking about as she met my J-Daddy in a Lowes while looking at lawn mowers. But time. Time heals almost any wound. Time helps mend the broken and heal the hurting. Time causes “broken homes” to become so much more than broken.

I’ve learned to resent that term, “broken home.” Adults used to apologize to me when I was younger when they realized I had divorced parents. But what about that is broken? Why is divorce seen as a dirty little word that no person should even think about? Why is divorce seen as the worst thing to ever happen in a child’s early life? I can honestly say that divorce is not some dirty word. Divorce is seen as a good decision and the start of the healing process in my family’s situation. I say this because my home was “broken” before the divorce process even started. Divorce helped my family heal.

So if a home is made by the people you feel it with, I can say my home is definitely not broken. My home is filled with 4 wonderful parents, 4 great siblings, a sister-in-law, and 2 beautiful little nieces. So I ask again, how is my home broken?

I won’t lie to you and say my home has always been peachy, but I’ve learned that no matter how dark a home gets, the sun is going to rise again. My home may not be conventional, heck, it’s probably 100 shades of weird, but the sun’s shining bright, and I know I am enjoying this sunlight.

Leave a Reply

