What All I Learned This Election Season

Well you guys, it is over.

The election has come to a close, and we have a new President-Elect, Mr. Donald J. Trump.

And before I continue on, let me just say that this is an election that will go down in history as one of the most shocking results ever.

And this won’t be recorded in history just because there were shocking results, but also because Donald Trump’s campaign manager is the first female to ever run a successful presidential campaign. So congrats to you, Mrs.  Kellyanne Conway.

So, I guess now it’s time for me to get the good food recipes back on my Facebook newsfeed. #hopefully

But throughout this election, I’ve seen people show their true colors. And to be honest, it’s a little sad. I’ve seen people be degraded, humiliated, attacked, etc. all because they support one candidate or another.

And no, this is not a post designed to tell you how you should have voted. Your vote is your right, and I would never tell anyone how to vote, but what I will say is that before you cast your vote, I hope you prayfully considered your choice.

But, as I’ve walked away from this election season, I’ve learned a thing or two.

#1: Honesty is always the best policy.

No matter if you’re a senior in college, a 30 year veteran, or running for the greatest office in the land, the truth matters. Lying covers things up for a little while…but the truth always comes out. Regardless of how you feel about it.

#2: Everyone loves a good scandal.

From Hillary Clinton’s deleted emails to Donald Trump’s All Access Hollywood Tapes, these campaign were full of scandal and mud slinging. And these scandals ruined the images of both candidates in my opinion. Donald is viewed as a racist pig, while Hillary is seen as an untrustworthy individual. Both are not good images we wanted the world to see as possibilities of our newest leader, but here we are.

#3: What we put on the Internet is something that lasts forever.

Yes, I’m talking to you, Donald Trump. I’ve seen your tweets. And Hillary, I’ve seen your shady communication skills…but it’s none of my business.

But in all seriousness, for my Facebook friends who have posted some crude, vile things as comments to someone who supported the candidate opposite of you, just know it’s there forever. Even with this cool thing called a delete button, it still manages to be somewhere on the Internet. Remember that next time you try to hit the ‘reply’ button on your Facebook page.

#4: Never underestimate the power of a good slogan.

Seriously, for days, all I’ve been thinking about is, “Make America Great Again,” and, “Stronger Together.” So, I know if you didn’t walk away from a night of politics with anything else, you at least knew a good slogan.

#5: Hate solves nothing.

I have seen more friendships destroyed in this election due to hatred. Trump supporters bashing Clinton supporters and vise versa has happened this whole election, and some of it has been the most crude crap I’ve ever read. That’s all I can say. But where did the hatred lead us? NOWHERE.

In fact, if I’m being honest here, I could say that people based their votes on which candidates they hated less. When is that EVER acceptable?

Bsut now, here we are: over half the nation pissed off because Mrs. Hillary R. Clinton is not our President-elect while the other half couldn’t be anymore thrilled that our President-elect is Mr. Donald J. Trump. And most of the ones who are happy with the President-elect are telling those that aren’t happy to pack their bags and move to a different country. And then the people who are pissed about the President-elect are saying they won’t respect our next President. But you guys….it’s not that serious.

And it may just be because I live in the South, but the amount of racist comments that have been stated since this election are ridiculous! Like, what happened to voting on policy? Or better yet, what happened to not discussing how you voted at all? I miss those times…and I’m young. Like young enough to not remember what it was like to not discuss who you voted for.

But anyway…

#6: Our role models sometimes forget they’re role models.

This is most definitely for Hillary and Donald. Both candidates exhibited vile, inappropriate, and inexcusable behavior. They’ve both demonstrated behavior of what not to do. And that, well, its just not a good role model. I hope and pray that as both move away from these campaign, they each find ways to become the role models these children deserve. And for the time being, both candidates have been humble since the results. And that’s a great thing.

#7: Life is always full of curveballs.

This whole election has been full of curveballs. If you would have asked me back in January who I thought would be the Republican nominee, I would have told you either Marco Rubio or Dr. Ben Carson. But never Donald Trump. And here goes the curveball. The curveball named Donald J. Trump. And now, he’s going to be the 45th President of the United States.

And to say that Donald J. Trump is our next President is a curveball in itself because if we were all honest, we’d say that we all thought Hillary R. Clinton had it in the bag. (And I’m not saying that you wanted her to win, but think long and hard for a second, most Republicans were nervous on election night.)

#8: No matter who is President, God is still in control of this country.

God has never left me or failed me, and He’s never left this nation. There is a reason why Donald J. Trump won the election. I have no clue what that is, but I know it will one day be revealed to us all. Like I’ve said time and time again, I have to trust the Lord and His plan because that plan is better than any plan I could have for myself. I believe the same goes for this nation. We have to trust the Lord’s plan for this nation even though it may be different than what some of us wanted.

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.”-Isaiah 43:2.

So I leave you with this, this election was one that will go down in history for my children and their children to learn about. I know most are not happy about the results, but we, as a nation, have to find peace in this and make the best of it. We cannot become unified if we refuse to work together. If Donald and Hillary can set aside their differences to work for the better of this country, we citizens should too.

Peace.

 

Leave a Reply

